Camellia Sinensis

Camellia Sinensis- Ancient Tea Tree
There are six kinds of tea:
White, Green, Yellow, Black, Oolong, and Pu’erh Tea
All from the same plant: Camellia sinensis
It is the processing that makes each different.

While the others are pushed to become immediately palatable,
Puerh is aged ,fermenting over years,
utilising the bacterial and fungal cultures naturally present on the leaves
as they grow in the dense Yunnan rainforest;
the birthplace of Tea.
Puerh is the original tea, processed old school.

Terroir - Artistry - Time

Puerh will age, like fine wines, developing over time
exquisite flavours and lovely Qi .

Distinctly, Puerh is not grown as a bush but rather allowed to grow
naturally as a deep-rooted tree.
The most prised are ancient tea trees,
which can be hundreds of years old.

Where does the Qi come from ? one belief holds,
the roots engage the vast biodiversity of the rainforest eco system ,
fermentation slowly composes the tea,
thus revealing the deep root Qi

The older the tree, the deeper the roots, the better the Qi.